Katharina Struber


Public Art

portfolio 2016 – pdf

“Lipstick Demands”, was an art project on the topic of sex work and public space. It took place may 2008 as part of the LEFÖ campaign “Sexarbeiterinnen haben Lust auf ihre Rechte” (Sex Workers Lust for their Rights) in the Blumberg Raum für Gestaltung, Neulerchenfelderstraße 90, within the scope of SOHO in Ottakring.

For the duration an opaque monochromatic red made of lipstick was applied to the inside of the salesrooms windows. Wishes and demands of sex workers were legible at eyes level. The appearance of a red-light district local was imitated and the room used for an examination of the topics sex work and public space.

The upper Neulerchenfelderstraße has been considered a target area for urban renovation for some time already. As with many former business streets there is a growing number of vacant shops. Reactivation of these as red-light businesses markedly changes the appearance of the street. The obscured views into the shops hints of secrecy.

Comprehensive research for the project started with discussions with the Gebietsbetreung Brunnenviertel who expounded these changes as an undefined discomfort for local neighbors.This “undefined discomfort” was given a specific space. The red-light businesses in the Neulerchenfelderstraße were to be ousted from their isolated status as uncomfortable phenomena and the underlying structural correlations addressed. Center of attention was to be the sex worker’s legal situation.

A broad network supported the project. Together with LEFÖ sex workers were asked about their needs, demands, and wishes; and these were made legible as lettering on the shop’s windows. In a nation wide campaign a call for used lipstick was made and these subsequently processed to color paste.

The Institute of Art and Design of the TU Vienna (prof. Christine Hohenbüchler) finalized the event with a 3-day symposium. The collaboration was significantly made possible through Inge Manka, whose article describes the institute’s research on this topic.

The collaboration with Soho in Ottakring resulted in effectively reaching a wide public, with up to 15000 people underway in the Brunnenviertel during the peak times of the events.

Lipstick Demands exposition, external view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, external view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, inside view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, inside view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, melting lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, melting lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, used lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, used lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Katharina Struber


Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

portfolio 2016 – pdf

„Lipstick Demands“, war ein Kunstprojekt, zum Thema „Sexarbeit und öffentlicher Raum“. Es fand Mai 2008, als Teil der LEFÖ Kampagne „Sexarbeiterinnen haben Lust auf Ihre Rechte“ im Rahmen von SOHO in Ottakring, in der Neulerchenfelderstr. 90 im Blumberg Raum für Gestaltung statt.

Die Auslagenscheiben des Geschäftslokals wurden für diesen Zeitraum Flächen deckend mit roter monochromer Hinterglasmalerei aus Lippenstift versehen. In Augenhöhe waren Wünsche und Forderungen von Sexarbeiterinnen zu lesen. Das Erscheinungsbild von Rotlichtlokalen wurde imitiert und der Raum als Veranstaltungsraum für eine Auseinandersetzung Thema Sexarbeit und öffentlicher Raum genutzt.

Die obere Neulerchenfelderstraße gilt schon seit längerem als Zielgebiet städteplanerischer Neugestaltung. Wie bei vielen ehemaligen Geschäftsstrassen, findet sich auch hier eine wachsende Zahl leer stehender Lokale. Die geschäftliche Wiederbelebung als Rotlichtlokale, verändert das Erscheinungsbild der Strasse markant. Der Einblick in den Geschäftsraum wird verschlossen und verweist somit auf Verborgenes.

Die umfassenden Recherchen, zu dem Projekt, begannen mit Gesprächen, mit der Gebietsbetreung Brunnenviertel, die diese Veränderungen als ein unbestimmtes Unbehagen der AnrainerInnen problematisierten. Diesem „unbestimmten Unbehagen“ sollte ein konkreter Raum gegeben werden. Die Rotlichtlokale in der Neulerchenfelderstraße sollten dem Status des isolierten und unbehaglichen Phänomens enthoben und strukturellen Zusammenhängen angesprochen werden. Die rechtliche Situation der SexarbeiterInnen sollte ins Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit gerückt werden.

Das Projekt wurde von einer breiten Vernetzung getragen. Gemeinsam mit LEFÖ wurden Sexarbeiterinnen nach ihren Bedürfnissen, Forderungen und Wünschen gefragt, die dann als Schriftzug auf den Fenstern zu lesen waren. In einer österreichweiten Kampagne wurde aufgerufen nicht mehr benützte Lippenstift zu schicken, die in einer partizipativen Performance zu pastöser Farbe verarbeitet wurden.

Zum Abschluß fand 3 tägiges Symposium in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Kunst und Gestaltung der TU (Leitung Prof.Christine Hohenbüchler) statt. Diese Zusammenarbeit ergab sich maßgeblich durch Inge Manka in deren Artikel Arbeit am Institut zum Thema beschreibt.

Eine breite Öffentlichkeitswirksamkeit ergab sich aus der Zusammenarbeit mit Soho in Ottakring, bei der Veranstaltung an den Spitzenzeiten bis zu 15000 Menschen im Brunnenviertel unterwegs sind.

Lipstick Demands exposition, external view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, external view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, inside view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, inside view, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, melting lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, melting lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, used lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber

Lipstick Demands exposition, used lipsticks, blumberg gallery vienna – © Katharina Struber